A house after our own journalist hearts: This house, built in 1910-1911, originally belonged to the publisher of The Sacramento Bee, C.K. McClatchy, his wife, Ella, and their three children.
McClatchy’s father, James, started the Bee (originally called The Daily Bee) February 13, 1857. C.K. founded McClatchy Newspapers, which eventually became the McClatchy Company. Between all its publications over the years, the company has won more than 50 Pulitzer Prizes. It is still in operation today in more than 30 United States markets.
With a blend of Beaux Arts and Colonial Revival features, this former home is now a branch of the city library.