The charming town of Wakefield, Mass., hasn’t always had that name. This monument was erected in 1888 to document the town’s evolution over the years.
Established in 1639 by settlers from the town of Lynn, Mass., the area was originally dubbed Linn Village. In 1644, it became part of the town of Redding, and later incorporated into the town of South Reading in 1812.
It wasn’t until 1868 that Wakefield was born, named after the rattan industry entreprenuer, Cyrus Wakefield.
Wakefield set up a large factory in the town, and also paid $100,000 for a town hall, inspiring residents to name the town after him.
The monument was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.